Home > Animals, Texas > First Teaching Experience

First Teaching Experience


This post is different from my usual ones and i think is an important one for me. The “first” of anything is always exciting, and with respect to me, here in this space would be the first sketchbook, first sketch, first blog/blog post, first tanjore painting, first recognition. In that line of firsts, this will be the first time I taught kids to dabble with charcoal and sketching in general.

Its funny how it all started when I come to think of it. A good luck card for my friends kids dance recital,with a charcoal sketch, gets the kids attention & they want to see how its done. After couple of months on Aug 8 we make it happen. From left its the creative Brecklyn, cute Alex and curious Grace.

Kids with their first charcoal sketch

Kids with their first charcoal sketch

I was actually nervous as to what I am going to show & tell them. I have never interacted with kids in a teaching capacity. When i expressed my concerns to my wife, she said i overthought about it. My concern was “how am I going to cut across through them so they can relate to what I am talking about”. This whole experience was a philosophical one for me, in a way. For 2 -3 days I was thinking “what am I going to do” and I came up with different options in my mind and then started all over again.Confused.Then when I shifted the focus from “I” to “them” I got a clear picture, a message, a flow of thought. We had some fun time for little over an hour. They drew their own creation with just little facilitation.

Later my wife said she had never seen me this patient before. Hearing that was also new to me.

And the best part was the very next day, they drew their own creation and gave it to me as a gift.  From Left to right, Brecklyn with her elephant, Alex with a cat and Grace with a rattle snake. Thank you guys!!

Kids with their original art work.

Kids with their original art work.

My first serendipitous teaching experience was a fun and memorable one. Looking forward to more!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

