Home > TamilNadu > Tanjore Big Temple

Tanjore Big Temple



I wanted to try something different this time. Hence Architecture.  I was browsing the net in search of good temple pics to draw. All that I had in mind was to do something simple to get a feel of it and then maybe at a later point of time do a detailed sketch. To test waters, I thought this pic was the right choice. The idea of superimposing Brihadeeswarar temple on an engraved stone  from the same temple was superb. Only while doing this did I realize the importance of paper texture,  to give the feel of stone. I have did what is possible within my limitations.

Here is a neat pic on the evolution of tamil script. Check this out to find which century did the letters found on the sketch above belong to..:)

Ref:

1. Picture courtesy – Sathiyan – http://www.flickr.com/photos/yessathiyan/3832129337/

2. Tamil script evolution picture – http://www.flickr.com/photos/anoopp/3515493170/sizes/m/

  1. Srinath S Iyer
    June 1, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Beautiful!!

  2. rajna
    June 7, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    brilliant..

  3. June 9, 2010 at 3:29 am

    REALLY GOOD

  4. swetha
    July 20, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Really Nice!!!!

  5. Swarna
    March 26, 2011 at 9:41 am

    hey there… this is sketch is so awesome.. it is so inspiring that tis is wat i was looking fr.. based on this am planning to make a home furnishing collection for my end-term sem.. so can u give me permission to copy tis image for my reference??

    • March 26, 2011 at 1:23 pm

      Hey swarnakanthi,
      You can go ahead and use my sketch for your reference subject to you crediting my blog

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

