Home > Navarasas, Portrait > Shirdi Sai Baba – Shanta Rasa

Shirdi Sai Baba – Shanta Rasa



This portrait of Shri Baba has been by far the most time consuming one that I have ever done.  I wanted this portrait as my 50th post but  just couldnt wait for another 7 more posts.  This is my first sketch that I did from a photo.  Personally I think this sketch has taken me to the next level, sketching from photographs. To give a personal touch,  I wrote my parents name on his ‘jeba maalai’.

For a long time now, I have been thinking how to complete my theme ‘navarasas’ with 2 more rasas to go.  With this sketch, I am checking off ‘Shanta rasa’ from my list..Karuna rasa still remains, will take care of that later.

“Shanta is serenity and peace. It represents the state of calm and unruffled repose that is marked simply by the lack of all other rasas. Because all emotions are absent in Shanta there is controversy whether it is a rasa at all.  Shanta represents complete harmony between the mind, body and the universe. Sages in India meditate for entire lifetimes to attain this state. In music it is often represented through a steady and slow tempo. Shanta is a clear and cloudless state. It is untroubled steadiness and it is the key to eternity.” —-1

I used  4H, 2B, 4B and 6B pencils in this sketch.

Ref:

1. http://www.ee.caltech.edu/~gowaikar/rand/navaras.html

  1. April 8, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    This one’s really awesome daa!

  2. Madhu
    April 8, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    nice work !!

  3. Ezhil Selvam
    April 8, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    This art of Sai Baba is so natural and divine.. Keep it up da:)

  4. April 8, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    Thank u people.

  5. vidya
    April 8, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Cant be better! Just Fab🙂

  6. jinnie
    April 8, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    nice sketch Sidd..I think this is one of ur best sketches..good job:)

  7. April 9, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Nanri Hai Vidya G n jinnie

  8. April 9, 2010 at 10:33 am

    hi… sid congrats…. beautiful work,,,, your parents name on jeba maalai…. excellent an unique thinking… all the best for u’re future works….. really u’re amazing….. vijay….. 9884667247…..

    • April 10, 2010 at 12:58 am

      thanku very much vijay.I really value ur comments a lot. I should meet u when i come to chennai.

  9. April 10, 2010 at 2:53 am

    Dude this is very nice……
    Perfect use of shadows and tones…..
    one of your finest till date……
    my rating 10/10 perfect……

  10. Harish
    April 11, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Hey… sooper da .. This is ur best sketch ..

  11. Sharanya
    April 11, 2010 at 10:51 am

    This is really nice … like the detailing.

  12. Manoj
    April 11, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Nice work Sid!! Portrays your devotion.

  13. April 11, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Thanks a lot guys.

  14. May 10, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Very nice site!

  15. Anita Janardhan
    March 18, 2012 at 9:29 am

    Hai Sidd your sketching is too good. My boyfriend is a SaiBaba devotee and his birthday is on April 28th and I want to gift him the Sai baba sketching. How will I contact you???

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

